What have I learned from my ELL paper?

I have learned many things throughout the construction of this paper. This paper, and the resources that I chose, have taught me ways to integrate technology into an ELL classroom. All students, not just ELL students, can apply technology cross curricula and can use it to further their learning. In one of my sources, there was a classroom that used podcasts to communicate with one another in the classroom. This was a different way to assess student participation, and a fun and engaging way for the students to communicate with one another. In another source that I used, there was a French classroom that used a strategy called TELL for English language learners. This strategy increased participation among the students and helped them with drafting, revising, and editing papers. This strategy was a useful tool and I am eager to try and apply this to my teaching in the future. Another component that I discovered throughout this paper was the term technophobia. I think many people assume that teachers do not use technology within their teaching because he or she is afraid to do so. This is not always the case. Some teachers believe that technology goes against their beliefs or personal preferences and choose not to use it. Even though they are missing out on something that their students can value and be engaged about, this is their choice. I hope to one day, when I have a classroom of my own, to integrate technology as much as possible for my students and open their eyes to new material. After writing this paper, I understand that integrating technology into teaching has many options, and can truly benefit the students when used properly. There were so many issues that I touched upon within my paper and many ways in which technology can be a way of learning for the students. I always look for new ways to support my teaching and engage my learners, but I never thought I would gather so much information and knowledge from constructing this paper. Sometimes I become frustrated or stressed out when it comes time to write a paper, but once I started delving into this topic, I became intrigued and learned a great deal. I learned about myself as a teacher, as a student, and ways that I can cultivate my learning and the learning of others. I appreciate this assignment and I know it will be used a great deal within my major and my teaching in the future.

Leave a Reply

