Learning comes in all different shapes and sizes

Throughout the readings for this week, there was one that I connected with the most. The reading titled “Building Better Instruction” really hit home with me and made me reflect on the lessons that I do each day with the kindergarteners at my school. I teach four and five year old children, so the one thing that I have to keep in mind throughout my teaching is versatility and creativity. I cannot teach in the same manner every day, or teach with the same learning strategy in mind all of the time. To keep my lessons interesting and to keep the children engaged, I take  notice to all of their different learning strategies and I gear my lessons towards them each day. One day I might do a lesson catered to the visual learners by drawing a picture of what I am teaching or showing a diagram. The next day I may play Spanish music or play an audio of people speaking Spanish for my audio learners. The next day I will have the students move around the room and play games, or I will have the students dance to cater to my kinesthetic learners. My students adapt to the learning styles and thrive when given new material each day.

In the reading “Building Better Instruction”, the author talks about nonlinguistic representations. I agree with this portion of the reading because I know that all students learn in various ways and teaching should be represented in such ways that vary from just a teacher giving a lecture. Students will have more success and a better appreciation for learning when given opportunities that enhance their academic achievement.

2 thoughts on “Learning comes in all different shapes and sizes

  1. …And that is such an important (and underused) area of instruction. The higher the grades that students move through, the more nonlinguistic representations seem to be used, too. Most educators know (or should know) how learners learn best, yet, often due to circumstances, end up ignoring what they know as “best practice” in order to cover required content.

    New tools and technologies offer a host of new ways to using such representations in our learning and teaching… even in Kindergarten.

    • Thank you so much for your insight on this topic. I too, feel that teachers know how students learn to their fullest ability, but do not utilize all of the ways in which these techniques can be reached. I almost feel that some teachers, not all of them, want to teach the students the material without paying attention to how the students best learn the material. There are so many ways that teachers can use technology, even at the kindergarten level, to assess all of the different learning styles of their students! I hope I aim to reach all areas of learning for my students and try my best to adhere to all of the different techniques to reach this goal!

Leave a Reply

